15 comments on “HOW DO YOU WRITE YOUR BOOK? by K J ROLLINSON

  1. Pingback: HOW DO YOU WRITE YOUR BOOK? by K J ROLLINSON | kathyrollinson

  2. A fantastic blog post. For me, I find that I am more often planning my work than I ever used to. But I still love knowing the beginning and the end, and letting the middle take care of itself. I meet far more new people and visit more interesting places this way… a little like starting out from home and knowing where you want to go but not planning the route. The problem is, of course, staying on course for your destination and not getting lost on the way. But as the great JRR Tolkien once said, “Not all those who wander are lost.”

  3. Thanks for your excellent comments, Michael. You use the analogy of a road, in my blog I use ‘life’, I suppose they are both journeys. Probably in my head I map out the book more than I think I do, but seldom do I put it into notes at first.

  4. I am posting a comment I got on Facebook from Joy Lennick, author.
    8 March at 15:58

    The proof of the pudding and all that. If your book is successful, your way may be the right way after all. Rules are sometimes meant to be massaged or bent a bit.Nevertheless…I gobble up advice wherever I can! We never finish learning. Good luck with the course. x .

  5. Perhaps I’m wrong since my “Immortal Relations” series, while getting some very good reviews hasn’t “taken off,” but I enjoy letting my muse (aka: overactive imagination) take the storyline where it needs to go. I’ve heard this called being a “pantser” (flying by the seat of one’s pants) vs. a “plotter.” It seems like the course you are taking says to lay out the course of your book in advance so IMO that would be a plotter. For non-fiction I would certainly see the reason in plotting the course of the book’s material. For me at least it seems more natural, writing a mostly fictional series, to go with the pantser method. That doesn’t mean that I don’t have ideas for my next book bouncing around in my head well in advance of writing them down, so perhaps that could be considered somewhat of a hybrid. (-;

    • Thanks AJ (I think it is AJ I’m talking to) for your comments. On the whole, I agree with you. As I say in my blog I know the beginning, end and SOME middle bits, but I’m a bit of ‘pantser’ as well. I agree with you about non-fiction. As I say in my blog my faction book, Where Lies My Heart’ is more structured and planned because I have to weave the fictional characters around the chronological facts.

  6. I have tried planning my books to that sort of level and I find it doesn’t work for me. I start with a What if? Question that drops a character (or characters) into a situation that they have to get out of. From this I find a beginning and an end, and I start writing. I start with a few key scenes in mind and as I write I discover other plot points that, had I planned in exhaustive detail, I would have been unlikely to have thought of. There’s a reason a lot of authors say the characters begin to make their own decisions – writing like this lets them develop organically and behave like real people. A snatch of a conversation here, an observation there, it all goes into the mix and comes out on the page.

    • I entirely agree with your point if you plan ahead in exhaustive details you may miss opportunities. I am not saying I don’t enjoy the course, but I disagree when they say you must plan all the book in advance.

  7. Even when I try to do some planning I get impatient at some point and have to get writing although for some books I’ve done more planning than for others. Most of the time I have the gist and main points but not the details. And it’s true that sometimes things change as you go along.

    • Many thanks Olga for taking the time to leave your comments. Most people that have replied seem to favour not to plan out EVERY detail. Maybe, the ones that haven’t commented agree with the course that you must plan and structure the book.

    • Many thanks. Michael Barton, my publisher, though so too. He writes an article in the Costa Blanca News, Spain, for our WordPlay Writers’ Forum, and intends to include this blog in his post.

  8. oops hit it too soon. until I rein him/her in a little. Sometimes he/she leads me in a completely different direction than I planned to go and it works for me. I like to just let my fingers do the leading and let myself go. Then comes a whole lot of editing! Ugh! Have fun writing! Isn’t it wonderful? Blessings, my friend!

  9. Interesting comment jjspina. Have you seen my blog ‘How do you write your book, Part 2?’ In which I detailed all the comments I had received until the date of Part 2. Thanks for your comments, sorry you missed to be included in Part 2. Kathy

Leave a Reply

